Fresh X: Franz Ferdinand “Always Ascending”

It’s been 4 years…

Franz Ferdinand who cracked ears and indie dance parties wide open when they released their self-titled album in 2004. They’ve lost longtime member, Nick McCarthy, so he could focus on family life and pursue other interests, but picked up Dino Bardot on guitar and Julian Corrie on keyboards, synth, and guitar. You can listen to the new track, “Always Ascending” and see if the changes give a new dynamic to the band or if they just dropped THE neo-neo disco track of 2017. My neighbors will hate me this weekend. That much I know.

Franz Ferindand also annouced they will drop the full album, “Always Ascending” on February 9th. It’s their 5th studio album.

Always Ascending Tracklist

1. Always Ascending
2. Lazy Boy
3. Paper Cages
4. Finally
5. The Academy Award
6. Lois Lane
7. Huck and Jim
8. Glimpse of Love
9. Feel the Love Go
10. Slow Don’t Kill Me Slow

Download X96's App

Join X96's email list for information about concerts, contests, and more!

* indicates required


  • X96 is Utah's Original Alternative. It is self-aware. It is ingrained. It plays bands like Panic! at the Disco, Red Hot Chili Peppers, The Cure, and Muse. It's part of a healthy diet and it's why native Utahns are so stout and stalwart. Listen and become part of it and it will become part of you.

To Top